Houston’s ‘Working Men and Women’ Inspire Accounting Alumni Award Recipient

Published on April 24, 2014

Bauer Department of Accountancy & Taxation Recognizes Alum John King (’92) and Achievements of Students, Faculty, Staff

EY Partner John King (’92) received the prestigious Outstanding Alumni Award during the 10th annual Accountancy Advisory Board Awards Banquet on April 17.

EY Partner John King (’92) received the prestigious Outstanding Alumni Award during the 10th annual Accountancy Advisory Board Awards Banquet on April 17. See more photos from the event.

Students, faculty, staff, alumni and corporate partners of the Department of Accountancy & Taxation at the C. T. Bauer College of Business at the University of Houston recognized the program’s accomplishments recently during the 10th annual Accountancy Advisory Board Awards Banquet.

Held on April 17 at the Houston Racquet Club, the banquet was an opportunity to celebrate outstanding student, staff and faculty accomplishments, along with EY Partner John King (‘92) who received the prestigious Outstanding Alumni Award.

King is a member of the Bauer College Board and the Bauer College Foundation Board. He previously served as chair of the Bauer College Accounting Advisory Board.

As she introduced him, EY Partner Lynn Caruso praised King’s dedication to UH and Bauer College. She observed that many UH students graduate and go on to have successful careers and give back to the community, emphasizing that King went above and beyond this in his commitment to helping the university.

“I didn’t graduate from here, but John has helped me see what makes UH so special,” Caruso said.

As he accepted the award, King said, “I feel wildly undeserving but nonetheless very grateful.”

He credited the students as being the reason for his continued connection to the university, saying that he is “always awed by their impressive achievements.”

He also shared with the audience about what drew him to UH. King attended UH on a National Merit Scholarship and graduated as a member of the Honors College with a perfect 4.0 GPA.

However, it was not the academic or professional opportunities that stood out in King’s mind, but rather the institution’s unique history. He told the story of Hugh Roy Cullen, who was among the first benefactors to UH and gave $70 million to the school.

In fact, Cullen’s support provided a permanent home for the then transient University of Houston. However, King explained that Cullen had one condition for the generous donation. Cullen had stipulated that the university be “always for the working men and women and their children; not a rich man’s college.”

King explained that this “profoundly noble” sentiment is one that is still true today and “says a great deal about me and about many in this room.”

King also looked to the future as he encouraged students to fuel the economy of this great city upon graduation from this great university.

“I am so hopeful of the achievements that lie in your future,” King said.

In addition to recognizing King with the Outstanding Alumni Award, the event also celebrated student accomplishments.

Students who actively participated in the department’s student activities while maintaining a high GPA were recognized through the Student Leadership Excellence Award. Undergraduate recipients of the award included Kelvin Foung, Trung Le, Sarah Nguyen, Noha Sahnoune, Antonio Sanchez and Gabriele Sadikin. Graduate recipients of the award included Supriya Aggarwal, Rachael Goldwait, Michelle Koehler, Anna Kruk, Mei Lin Lee and Serena Tian.

Students with a stellar academic record were recognized through the Student Academic Excellence Award. Undergraduate recipients of the award included Allan Justin Azurin, Stephanie Canizales, Zuleika Donahoe, Amy Mei, Tariladei Ogidi Oke,  Uzma Parveen, Tien Phan, Quynh Ta, Quan Tran, and San Ton. Graduate recipients of the award included Deysi Avellaneda, Lillian Gallick, Thong Le, Chelsea Sorge, Sherry Wu and Jenny Jiang.

Office Coordinator Cecilia Pittman and Program Manager Sarayu Sundar were recipients of the Outstanding Staff Award.

Faculty achievements in the areas of service, research, and teaching were also recognized. Assistant Professor Volkan Muslu received the Outstanding Research Award. Clinical Professor Robert Milbrath received the Outstanding Service Award. Clinical Assistant Professors Mary Sykes and Kiran Parthasarathy received the Outstanding Teaching Award.

The annual banquet also marked the end of the term for Accounting Advisory Board (AAB) Chair Dan Crumrine, vice president and CFO of Fayez Sarofim and Co., who has chaired the group for two years. Crumrine expressed his appreciation for having the opportunity to serve in the role.

Clark Sackschewsky, BDO Partner, has assumed the role of the AAB chair.

By Sarayu Sundar

See more photos from the event

Posted Under: Alumni, Faculty and Staff, Recognition

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>